UHV Rotaract Club assembles, donates school supply kits

Members of the University of Houston-Victoria Rotaract Club and Victoria East High School
Members of the University of Houston-Victoria Rotaract Club and Victoria East High School Interact Club pose with school supply kits made for elementary students and teachers. In April, members of the two clubs gathered to assemble school supply kits through a $500 grant from Rotary District 5930 and with a matching grant from United Way of the Crossroads. The members created more than 240 school supply kits for students and five teacher classroom kits for Rowland Elementary School. The school is the UHV Rotaract Club’s project school through the Early Act First Knight Program. Pictured, front row from left to right: Brooke Garcia, Rotaract faculty advisor; Ashley Rush, Interact Club member; and Sharon Winn, Rotaract Club President; second row, Ashley Clay, Interact Club member; Karie Taylor, Interact Club member; Melissa Stewart, Rotaract Club member; and Thanh Le, Rotaract Club member; back row, Heather Williams, Interact Club advisor; Katelyn Kahanek, Interact Club member; Lilly Williams, Interact Club member; Dillion Barden, volunteer; David Stevens, Rotaract Club member; and Claudia Walker, Rotaract Club vice president.

The University of Houston-Victoria, located in the heart of the Coastal Bend region since 1973 in Victoria, Texas, offers courses leading to more than 80 academic programs in the schools of Arts & Sciences; Business Administration; and Education, Health Professions & Human Development. UHV provides face-to-face classes at its Victoria campus, as well as an instructional site in Katy, Texas, and online classes that students can take from anywhere. UHV supports the American Association of State Colleges and Universities Opportunities for All initiative to increase awareness about state colleges and universities and the important role they have in providing a high-quality and accessible education to an increasingly diverse student population, as well as contributing to regional and state economic development.

Amber Aldaco